HideMyAss Review

  • over 200 servers
  • P2P, L2TP, PPTP, OpenVPN(UDP)
  • 30-day money back guarantee
  • Windows, Linux, MAC
  • Android, iPad, iPhone

HideMyAss Overview


Price2.842.842.842.842.84
Support2.882.882.882.882.88
Speed33333
Reliability33333

It’s difficult to be objective when reviewing a name like “Hide My Ass”, but it’s hard to deny that the name works. It’s catchy and it says precisely what the VPN provider does: it protects your “assets” and your identity from the rest of the world. Hide My Ass offers not only a virtual private network, but also security and anonymity as you access any online connection. The HMA package consists of many software tools that allow you to surf the Internet or create new information anonymously and securely, and this can be done through any application or protocol. The VPN concept is an ideal solution to protecting one’s self from spies, hackers, and even local government monitoring. Even if you are using a WI-FI connection, you can count on anonymity because of the country-switching in the system.

Before you go down and read the full dedicated HideMyAss review you also could consult this video that reveals some points worth taking into consideration:

Price

HideMyAss offers three month options and they are all arranged simply by term. Each plan guarantees users all of the servers, 22,500 IP addresses, the software and no complexities as far as bandwidth limits, switches or protocols. The first plan is a month-by-month arrangement and it costs $11.52 per month. If you pay for six months in advance, you pay $50.66, which is actually $8.44 per month, savings of 27%. If you pay in advance for a full year, you pay $78.66, which amounts to $6.55 per month, savings of 43%.

Hidemyass pricing is as follows:
1 month – $11.52
6 months $49.99
12 months $78.66 ($6.66 per month)

Click here to see HideMyAss Special Special Discount and Savings at this moment

Countries

HideMyAss is certainly not well hidden in terms of reputation. It is very known and already has a presence in 36 countries. Users can access over 200 servers and over 22,500 IPs with only one account. Servers are set in major countries all around the world, including (in alphabetical order) Australia, Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, USA, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

Protocols

The company offers Open VPN(UDP), L2TP, and PPTP, which is significant, since many countries do not offer thhese options. The fact that you can freely switch servers is a major advantage, as many providers charge top dollar for this option. You can access P2P traffic on DMCA free servers and generally surf and utilize any network or Internet page without fear of security breaches.

Customer Support

HideMyAss does not offer live telephone support, but it does offer live chat options as well as the remote desktop feature. In addition, users can find out more through email or by using the support ticket system. Most users state that customer support responds quickly even when working through email. There is also a forum discussion, which offers interactive help between users and HMA workers.

Money Back

One of the best features stated in this HideMyAss review, is the 30-day money back guarantee option. This is standard in the business world but very rare in the VPN industry. Most companies are content to give three to seven days as a refund grace period, but HideMyAss extends the time to 30 days, allowing for a huge (though unofficial) trial period. The term is unconditional.

Traffic

HideMyAss offers unlimited bandwidth, which is, once again, not standard in VPN. The company does not limit or restrict traffic; meaning P2P and IRC chat are just fine.

Speed

HideMyAss is boosted in speed, uptime and reliability by their vast number of international servers. The service runs at gigabit server speeds. In general, the closer you are to the city-based server, the better the connection will be. The system actually has a speed guide feature, which shows the fastest server for your current connection. Switches are free, so it’s safe to say speed will not be a problem. Independent testing revealed that the average speed was approximately 15 Mbps download, though it can reach 40.68 Mbps or more. Not the industry standard but very fast, nonetheless with no reports of slowdown from customers.

Here is a video from HMA official Youtube channels and it demonstrates the speed tests:

Click here to visit HideMyAss

Supported Devices

Practically all mainstream mobile devices can connect you with HMA VPN services. This includes the Android, the iPad and the iPhone, as well as Windows Mobile and the DDWRT Router. However, the system does not support IPv6. While VPN may seem complex, the actual installation and use of the system is not. HideMyAss offers easy to use client software that gives you the choice of automatic or manual installation. The software even provides step by step tutorials.

Supported OS

Supported operating systems include Windows, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Linux Ubuntu and Linux Fedora, Mac (Tiger, Leopard, Lion, etc.). All of the major OS’s are supported on the HideMyAss VPN technology. The software can also work with all major browsers including Internet Explorer, Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome and Opera.

Free Trial

HideMyAss VPN does not offer a trial or demo period in strict definition. However, they do offer a 30-day money back guarantee, which is practically a 30-day trial. If you are unsatisfied with the service or if it doesn’t meet your expectations you can cancel within 30 days of your purchase. This one month of surfing and configuring for you will definitely answer all of your questions. Since most users will sample the service and know if their needs are met quickly (it is self-explanatory), 30 days is more than enough time.

Others

HideMyAss provides at the moment only English support and accepts as a payment method credit card or online payments like PayPal and Google Checkout, not to mention Plimus, AlertPay and Liberty Reserve.

Here is a short video that demonstrates how to use HMA software:

While it is true that the website itself is not available in some countries, the actual software works anywhere near a server city. Some users could say that the lack of a dedicated IP is a disadvantage (it limits IP types) though others believe this is not a major issue. The price is not very high for such service and is above average, but is not as low as you can find. It is a company that is ideal for beginners as well as experienced users, provided you don’t need dedicated IP hosting.

Click here to visit HideMyAss


HideMyAss Customer Reviews (25)


On January 26, 2012 Jack wrote:
Price 44444
Support 55555
Speed 55555
Reliability 44444

Awesome service. Been using HMA 6 months already. Lot’s of servers, good speed. The customers service is great.


On January 26, 2012 Marcus wrote:
Price 55555
Support 55555
Speed 55555
Reliability 55555

I used for years their proxy but the vpn service from HMA is outstanding. They have plenty of servers and they have a great customer support. I am using mostly for watching the TV show from USA and the speed is really good. HMA is the best!


On March 11, 2012 Michael wrote:
Price 55555
Support 44444
Speed 55555
Reliability 55555

I must stress the excellent service I’m getting with HMA Pro VPN. The price / value ratio is unbeatable. Oh yes, I will be renewing. I’m going with a yearly plan next time!


On May 28, 2012 John wrote:
Price 44444
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 33333

I used this provider just over a year ago for their UK VPN service. I really didn’t have any complaints other than being a little slow at times.

I recently signed up with them for their Australian VPN servers in Brisbane. I wanted to watch some of the excellent SBS Giro d’Italia coverage. Unfortunately the servers were so slow it wasn’t worth even downloading the coverage. 3 hours to download 100Mb!! Appalling. Support suggested trying their OpenVPN client but that was worse. It wouldn’t allow me to download at all! I dug around on their forums and found the speed of their Brisbane has been an issue for at least 6 months. They’ve done nothing about it. I’ve heard the Singapore servers are similarly slow.

I thought I hadn’t lost anything since they have a 30-day money back guarantee. HAHAHA … yeah right!! They said I’d been a previous subscriber and wasn’t eligible! I asked them to explain (several times) but have heard nothing back. No refund, no explanation.

Appalling support! I will never sign up with them again or recommend them to anyone.


On June 7, 2012 John wrote:
Price 44444
Support 44444
Speed 44444
Reliability 44444

Very good vpn service. Have been using it for 3 years and the server list just keeps getting longer and longer. Highly recommended.


On June 27, 2012 bill jones wrote:
Price 33333
Support 33333
Speed 55555
Reliability 55555

get me facebook


On July 3, 2012 Mark Ackley wrote:
Price 22222
Support 55555
Speed 44444
Reliability 33333

Hide my ass is a great VPN, but you can try Hotspot Shield as well. It offers both a Free and a paid Elite version.

Hotspot Shield Works on wireless and wired connections alike and Provides Unlimited Bandwidth.

You can try it here: http://www.hotspotshield.com


On July 21, 2012 Verse wrote:
Price 11111
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

This is the VPN that sold out in the Lulzsec fiasco.

http://blog.hidemyass.com/2011/09/23/lulzsec-fiasco/

I don’t support what Lulzsec did, but who in their right mind would use a VPN that promises secrecy yet so easily sells out their own patrons.


On August 6, 2012 Andy wrote:
Price 33333
Support 22222
Speed 22222
Reliability 11111

Don’t use them to share torrent things, especially with their VPN U.S IP Address. they will disable your account.I stopped using their services


On August 15, 2012 James wrote:
Price 11111
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

I have used HMA for the past two years. After a recent incident, I contacted them to ask them if they kept logs and, if so, for how long. You may be surprised to know that they keep logs for 3-4 years! (“We’re required to by law.”) Their marketing certainly doesn’t give this impression. I stopped using them immediately. What’s the point of using an “anonymous” service that keeps logs of you for years and will hand them over to third-parties without complaint?

There are PLENTY of alternatives that take privacy and anonymity a LOT more seriously (http://torrentfreak.com/which-vpn-providers-really-take-anonymity-seriously-111007/)


On August 18, 2012 Kevin wrote:
Price 11111
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

What’s the point of using this service? They keep your all your info and a log of everything you used the service to access for at least THREE YEARS. This is the service that has sold out their members in the past.

This service is a joke, it doesn’t do what’s advertised, they’re literally just taking your money and delivering nothing.


On September 4, 2012 Robbed wrote:
Price 22222
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

I signed up for HMA Pro.
I was getting only 1mbs which was too slow to stream video. So I tried out StrongVPN and immediately the speeds increased to 10mbs.
So I asked for my Money Back from HMA, according to their 30 day unconditional refund policy. Well I’ve sent 5 emails asking them to cancel my account and it have been over 1 week but HMA is ignoring my emails. As of now, my account is still “active” according to the HMA control panel.
I don’t know if StongVPN is the best choice, but what I can say from experience is that you should avoid HMA! They’ll take your money, give you a lousy service, and ignore you.


On September 13, 2012 Brad wrote:
Price 11111
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

I tried this service twice and both times it sucked! Big time! Confusing UI, very poor customer service and very poor connection and speed. I’ve tried many others and HMA is the worse! Not sure on how they rank in anyone’s top 10! Two thumbs down!


On September 15, 2012 Brett wrote:
Price 11111
Support 22222
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

Firstly, if you give this a trial, only do it once. I have it a second chance and ended up stuck with a 12 month subscription as the fine print says only 1 trial per person.

Also, if you live in New Zealand probably don’t bother at all. It is almost too slow to use for web browsing and isn’t an option for anything else – streaming, gaming etc.

They did cancel my first trial and refund my payment without any trouble, hence 2 stars for support. To be fair though I would have given it zero stars for speed if that was an option.


On September 18, 2012 Max wrote:
Price 55555
Support 11111
Speed 55555
Reliability 44444

You don’t have a section for security coz as we know HMA fails miserably when it comes to IP logging and retaining customers info and passing it on to authorities, also Portugal IP’s are actually UK IP addresses so they should scrub Portugal off their list as one of the countries they have.


On September 28, 2012 kyrie johnson wrote:
Price 11111
Support 33333
Speed 55555
Reliability 55555

i know what to do


On September 28, 2012 kyrie johnson wrote:
Price 11111
Support 55555
Speed 55555
Reliability 55555

work status


On September 28, 2012 kyrie johnson wrote:
Price 55555
Support 55555
Speed 55555
Reliability 55555

work empire


On October 1, 2012 Jack wrote:
Price 55555
Support 55555
Speed 55555
Reliability 55555

Works fine. Happy with it. Keep it up guys!


On October 1, 2012 Vanessa wrote:
Price 55555
Support 55555
Speed 55555
Reliability 44444

Despite all the rumors regarding their log policy, still is the best VPN I found until now. If do not to stupid things then is nothing to worry about log. I use it to watch shows and unblock US sites when aboard.
Thanks HMA!


On October 18, 2012 Paul wrote:
Price 22222
Support 11111
Speed 22222
Reliability 22222

@Vanessa – The log policy is not a “rumor” – just contact them and they’ll confirm that they keep logs of your activities for 1-2 years and they *will* hand them over to third-parties if ordered by a court to do so.

As for doing “stupid things” – unblocking US sites to watch shows when you’re abroad would fall under that category if certain authorities had their way.


On November 30, 2012 BillC wrote:
Price 44444
Support 44444
Speed 11111
Reliability 33333

This product has a great control panel with bells & whistles. If speed is not important to you then HMA is a good VPN. It’s priced in the range of other good VPN clients.

My problem is it is very slow. I tested it against another VPN in two different cities and several different servers – not once did HMA come in the fastest and in some cases was 50% slower. If speed is not an issue then this is a good VPN.

I’ve had good service in all but one area – refunds. I wanted a refund under their 30 day 100% refund policy but nothing yet. They charge my account in minutes but refunds apparently are not important to them.


On January 17, 2013 Andrew wrote:
Price 44444
Support 55555
Speed 33333
Reliability 44444

The best thing I can say is that their support is awesome! They helped me step by step to setup my VPN on my router even though its firmware is not “officially” supported.

Speed is low however. You must use their app to continuously find the lowest latency servers for a chance at a decent speed.

Most of the time it’s enough for streaming HD but it can give you headaches.

From my home, I was able to get working speeds on my 150Mbps broadband, but that wasn’t true for all locations I visited during my winter holidays.


On February 4, 2013 ladygogo wrote:
Price 11111
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

I would say their support is something to cry at. I didn’t get a response to my emails for days. I’ve since switched to Private Internet Access and they respond to emails within minutes and offer great support. Also, I found out they do offer refunds (HMA says they give one, but then they dont – as I’ve found out), they don’t keep logs of your activity like HMA does. They are 100% anonymous plus they are cheaper. I wish I had read reviews before I subscribed to HMA. They are just good at marketing, but their business practices are terrible.


On February 4, 2013 ladygogo wrote:
Price 11111
Support 11111
Speed 11111
Reliability 11111

In response to BillC, did they ever refund you? They finally responded to my 6 requests. They said even though I only had the service for 4 hours (FORGET 30 days!), 4 hours – i went over a 10 GB limit (in and out) – which is bogus. Anyway, since i regrettably bought a year subscription, they said that they’d offer a partial refund and charging me for 2 months price. Yes, thats right, 4 hours = 2 months to them. Now they say they’re refunding me that amount, lets see if they actually do it (nothings been reflected on my bank account yet).

Rate and Review HideMyAss


Name*

Price
Support
Speed
Reliability
Email*
Website
Message*

Top 10 VPN Providers

 HideMyAss
HideMyAss $9.99/month
1
Kepard
Kepard $7/month
2
Private Internet
Private Internet $6.95/month
3
IPVanish
IPVanish $10/month
4
PureVPN
PureVPN $9.95/month
5
StrongVPN
StrongVPN $7/month
6
ibVPN
ibVPN $4.95/month
7
HideIPVPN
HideIPVPN $5.99/month
8
ExpressVPN
ExpressVPN $12.95/month
9
CactusVPN
CactusVPN $4.99/month
10
Kepard - Premium VPN Service

Latest news


03 April 2013 | 0 Comments

The great people at IPVanish accepted to answer a few questions about their comp

30 March 2013 | 0 Comments

Kazakhstan and Russia both have regimes in place that seek to control the Intern

22 March 2013 | 3 Comments

Wouldn’t it be great if you could surf online without ever giving a thought to